top of page

Scriptwriting

From Ideas to Script

Rather than having a system of different drafts, I went straight from ideas to one draft. Granted, during the writing period, I made changes and adjustments to that same draft based on peer reviews, but still.


The very first hint of working on this film is dated all the way back to 16th December 2022 in this note where I consider two ideas for a film:



A very interesting moment in the scriptwriting process was when I was writing the start of scene 5. I had the first couple lines of a conversation between Zack (Conner Southway) and Harris (Ashton Brosuis) written, however I wasn't sure how to continue the scene. My solution was to put fellow media students Romano Ghirardello and Ben Black in a room with the script for scene 5 up to that point. I asked them to start the lines and continue after they abruptly end in a form of improv. I later took that session and adapted what they said into the script. They have been credited in the special thanks section.






Another interesting part of the scriptwriting process was when I was writing the panic attack, I wanted the first couple of conversations to be audible before all the audio started overlapping, and one of them was one where a version of Abigail (Mariya Perepelytsya) was speed talking at a version of Zack, but I didn't know what I wanted her to say. I had the idea to turn to my classmate Romano and simply say "Romano, talk at me." He then started talking at me at a rate never before heard. I scrambled to grab a notepad and transcribe what I could, proceeding to implement and adapt it into the script.



I am very pleased with the contributions I received from the improv exercises I did with Romano and Ben. They provided fresh perspectives and pieces of dialogue I may not have come up with otherwise. Overall, I am very proud of how my script has turned out, especially as I wrote this film as well as directing it.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page